Musina to Lilongwe

Dupless1 created the topic: Musina to Lilongwe

• Dupless1
  • Dupless1's Avatar Topic Author

Hi Mike,

This is my first time, the info on you forums is very helpfull - thanks !
My wife has booked 5 days at Lukoma island on Lake Malawi, and I am quite unfamiliar with this part of the country (Apart from Vic Falls, Maputo, Ponta de Oura etc.)
Seems like Beit Bridge WILL be a challenge, I will prepare mentally for that. I am concerned about my planned traveling times as we have to catch a small Plane at Lilongwe. Current plans as follows:

26 Dec - Sleep over at Musina (good day for Beit bridge ? Should we move like 04h00 AM to avoid the rush?)
27 Dec - Stay over around Harare / Tete
28 Dec - Last stretch to Lilongwe (Gotta catch the plane at 15h00)

GPS distances are as follows :
Musina - Harare : 598km
Harare - Tete : 377km
Tete - Lilongwe : 359km

The way back should be ok because we have much more time - can adapt.
Accommodation in the Harare / Tete area proved to be problematic. by the time we discovered the links on your Forum, it was too late - all full !!

Only option remaining is to pack a tent and the basics and sleep where ever we can find a spot. How secure is this in Tete ?

Just two questions :
1. Is this do-able ?
2. Do we need a VISA or special docs for Malawi ?

Much appreciated.
Stephen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

mozman replied the topic: Musina to Lilongwe

Hi Stephen

apologies for reply delay. See my responses within your queries below: