Kilambo - Namoto

Tankgirl created the topic: Kilambo - Namoto

• Tankgirl
  • Tankgirl's Avatar Topic Author

Hi Mike
I have asked this before (lonely planet), but thought maybe I wasn't clear enough. I realise things in Africa are never constant. There is so much conflicting information. Being blonde (even though its bottle blonde) doesnt help.
How likely is it that I can do the Northern border crossing? (rain, time of year, female?, and the 25km walk with lions and elephant!)
I hold a South African passport- do I need to go any where special to get stamped? Do I need to pay for a visa (Moz High Commision in London said I didn't need a visa)
I work in the marine industry- and can get hold of a life raft, should I bring it? A life jacket is so much more compact.... :0)

Thanks

P.S.: I have signed up for the exclusive Pollonium 235 membership, you should have my credit card details.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

mozman replied the topic: Kilambo - Namoto

It is only the beginning or the rains in Tanzania (it has been raining off and in Mtwara), so the roads should not yet be an issue. If you have a tent (a tent is essential in this part of the world) and can wait perhaps a day (there should be transport every day from Namoto to Mocimboa da Praia), you will not have to walk to Quionga but will have to walk 3km from Singa where the ferry beaches to Namoto where there is a formal border post.

The good news is that South Africans no longer need visas to get into Mozambique but you may have to pay approx US$5 border tax (taxa da fronteira). Make sure that you get the full 30 days stamped into your passport. Namoto is really just a collection of huts in a beautiful riverine forest and try to change some shillings or dollars in meticais (look out for the 'old' mets that are in thousands as they are no long valid) at Kilambo so you can buy a beer or cooldrink and some food in Namoto if you have to overnight there.